Justin Vela

Keeping Busy…Advertising/Corporate Portfolio…Helsinki 2012…

leave a comment »

Eurovision 2008. Belgrade, Serbia. From the newly created Advertising/Corporate Gallery.

Helsinki- This is officially the longest I have stayed in one city (and within a very small area of that city) since, well, as far back as I can remember…

Along with completing 3 out of 5 sections of the book that I am working on, I’ve continued to work on my long term story on global human trafficking, and begin to seek out advertising and corporate work. Though I’m just starting this, I have created a gallery of images based on past work that showcases what I can do in that realm.

Hope to add more to it soon. I photographed weddings and did some corporate and event photography while living in San Francisco and Olympia, USA but having gone digital with archiving earlier this year I don’t currently have access to those images.

Today, via Twitter, a friend informed me that Helsinki will be the 2012 World Design Capital.

Read all about it here.

This event is something that I hope to write about (and make images for while based in Helsinki) as it approaches. The transformation that take place when events like this come to cities has always been extremely interesting to me. Cities cleaning up and modernizing before hosting the Olympics is an extreme example. I’ve written about the changes New Delhi is undergoing in preparation for the 2010 Commonwealth Games and am curious to discover what Helsinki, an ultra-modern city, will do before hosting this event.

Being a World Design Capital is all about showcasing how the design of a city benefits the inhabitants. Helsinki, I believe, has a large amount of modern architecture and infrastructure in comparison to many other European capitals. Sometimes the residents even bemoan the fact that there is no longer a central old town similar to those in Stockholm or Tallinn. Check out the World Design Capital homepage here and how the city of Helsinki already has plans to use the event to help ‘transform’ the city.

In late December I’ll be back in Israel and Jordan for the first time since September 2008 for a few weeks.

Written by Justin Vela

November 25, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Posted in Europe

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

