Justin Vela

Book Update

with one comment

Helsinki-For the most part I’ve been in Helsinki since last September writing a book.

I finished the book a few weeks ago and have been in touch with some agents though no luck publishing it yet.

In some ways it is a hard sell. The entirety of the book was researched when I was a student and spans a massive number of countries, events, and conflicts.

That is why I am now, after a few weeks break from writing, going back and strengthening the narrative, focusing on not just the pieces of journalism that I researched, but also why someone would make a trip like this and describing more of the process. Its becoming a lot more of a travel book than a Current Events book, which is probably for the best. While researching it, I knew that the combination of the two might be at times difficult to pinpoint an audience for, but after some feedback I’ve settled on the Travel camp.

Writing a book ‘ain’t easy.

Written by Justin Vela

February 21, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Posted in Europe

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love travel books and I think that you could get a great reception if your book is marketed well 🙂 Especially with travellers who are interested in current events. Keep me posted about when it could be published!

    Jessica Holt

    August 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm


Leave a Reply

